Author of the Month August – Readers Review Room

BookGoSocial Top Voted Children’s Book Author 2017

 WEETJESBOEK-cover    cover voorstel 1 mei    petits-savoirs-cover

Tap the photo for more info and where to buy.
fotoboeklievesnellings@gmail.com

 

SAMANTHA COVILLE, December 15, 2017
On Readers’ Favorite and Barnes & Nobles

Take your children and your whole family on an adventure with Margot the groundhog in Groundhog Secrets: Everything You Always Wanted To Know About Woodchucks by Lieve Snellings. Margot will use her witty humor and her extended family members to teach you all about the size, life cycle, hibernation, speed, eating habits, and more of groundhogs. There’s enough fun facts in here to last multiple readings and there’s no one better to bring them all to you than Lieve Snellings, who is a wildlife photographer with a particular interest in groundhogs. You can see her passion come to life on every page you turn.

Lieve Snellings may have converted this reader into a groundhog fan. Or at least a fan of little Margot. The merging of beautiful, high resolution wildlife photos and digital elements is humorous and captivating. You only need one look at Margot holding a letter she just got in the mail to know the creativity is strong in this picture book. I think kids and adults alike will learn something from Groundhog Secrets. It can sometimes feel like a lot is being thrown at you at once, but in the end it’s enjoyable, colorful, vibrant, and fun. And when you’re trying to read an educational book to a child, whose attention can easily be lost, fun is an important element. Apparently, there is another Margot book so I know what I’ll have to check out pretty soon! Fantastic work from an author who proves that passion can really make a difference every time in what you do.

 

WANDA, November 22, 2017
On Amazon .com – 5 stars
Groundhogs!
What an adorable book! The pictures are amazing! I enjoyed learning more about groundhogs. I didn’t realize they were also known as woodchucks. A very informative book. I know children and adults will enjoy reading this book together and learning about these sweet animals.

 

RHIAN WALLER, November 22, 2017
Amazon .co.uk and ‘Other Worlds’ author page of Rhian Waller – 4 stars
Groundhog Day
I was hoping Groundhog Secrets would clue me in to the hidden life of an animal I’d encountered on in Canada but didn’t know much about. Well, now I know a bit more! Great for any child who is interested in natural history or furry beasties – and for those who aren’t but need some info for a school project!

AIWAW REVIEW: GROUNDHOG SECRETS

Groundhog Secrets by Lieve Snellings (Childrens, non-fiction, natural history)

Overview and Synopsis : It’s no secret I have a soft spot for animals. I was hoping Groundhog Secrets would clue me in to the hidden life of an animal I’d encountered on in Canada but didn’t know much about. Well, now I know a bit more!

Readers are introduced to Margot, a chatty and charming groundhog who is very happy to share the hidden lives of her family (and rodent friends). We learn all sorts of things from the unique fur woodchucks wear to their toilet arrangements (did you know they dig lavatory burrows?).

Narrative and style: Snellings doesn’t shy away from including complicated, scientifically correct terminology but I think that’s a good thing. Children tend to read up and while younger readers will enjoy the lovely, characterful photographs, older readers might enjoy getting their teeth into the details. Some of the language is a bit stilted and could be smoothed out, especially at the start, but that’s not a big issue.

Speaking of photographs, these are great. Sharp focus, appropriate to each page and well composed, they really add to the book. Snellings adds a touch of whimsy here and there with photoshopped hats and letters but that doesn’t detract from the overall professional feel.

World-building: The photos offer a window into the natural world.

Plot: This is a picture driven factual book so there isn’t much in the way of a plot but all the information is logically ordered and flows well. I liked the little snippet of folklore at the end, too.

Overall: Great for any child who is interested in natural history or furry beasties – and for those who aren’t but need some info for a school project!

 

 

JEANNE LAMBRIANOU, August 22, 2017
Amazon.com + Goodreads – 5 stars
Found out some new things!
I had no idea that wood chucks could climb trees! I still don’t quite get how they store fat on a veggie diet. How do they locate each other if they are so solitary? I know I love watching mine, and really enjoyed this book. Thank you.

 

ELLEN L. BUIKEMA, August 12, 2017
Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, Goodreads and Readers Review Room – 5 stars
Wonderful Nonfiction Book with Delightful Photographs 
This is an excellent book, full of facts woven into Margot the Groundhog’s story. I enjoyed learning about groundhogs and truly loved the photography. I plan to recommend this book to school librarians as it will be a great addition to school libraries as well as home.

 

SHELBY PAUL, August 2, 2017
Amazon.com – 5 stars
Very informative book on woodland creatures
This book is full of interesting information that I didn’t know about groundhogs. I like how the author writes in 1st person as if the groundhog is talking about herself, and her kind. The author goes on to talk about the groundhog family; including squirrels and chipmunks. The images are beautiful and very eye-catching for young and old. This book is probably better for upper elementary age to lower middle school students and could be a good reference book for a school report on groundhogs with all the facts.

 

SARAH HAYSON, July 21, 2017
Amazon.com + Goodreads – 5 stars
Excellent non-fiction book! 
This is an excellent children’s book with many facts about the groundhog. It contains beautiful photographs on each page. My daughters enjoyed learning all about this intriguing animal! I highly recommend this for classrooms everywhere!

 

ASPEN WILLOW, July 20, 2017
Amazon.com – 5 stars
This is a book that children will love!
I am thoroughly impressed with this book! I am a second grade teacher and the students in my class loved reading about animals and this book would be a perfect addition to my classroom library! The pictures are amazing with so many cute additions and the way this author brought the plot forward is so cute! I have to say that this book is probably better than any of the scholastic animal books that I have seen in a while! Kudos to this author!

 

ADDI, July 6, 2017
Amazon.com – 4 stars
not EVERYTHING
I read this on KU and thought it was charming. Lieve Snellings did tell us a lot of things and gave us a whole slew of funny, interesting pictures. Written in language kids will understand, she almost fulfilled her promise of telling everyone, including adults “everything you ever wanted to know about woodchucks.” But she didn’t answer the most vital question of all:
“JUST HOW MUCH WOOD CAN A WOODCHIUCK, CHUCK, IF A WOODCHUCK CAN CHUCK WOOD?”
Maybe science hasn’t caught up! A lovely little read. Good job!

 

 

HELEN PRYKE, June 14, 2017
Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk and Goodreads – 5 stars
A beautiful book
A beautiful book for children all about woodchucks with stunning photographs and lots of information, such as why they like salt so much, how they drink, and how their burrows underground are built. I can imagine this book being carefully preserved and passed from child to child, enchanting each one. Very well done to the author for an original, and interesting book.

 

LYNN BUSH, June 4, 2017
Amazon.com – 5 stars
Loved the pictures!
Loved the pictures and laughed at some of the edits to the pics. They were very cute and made me smile. There were cute little remarks along the way, and with along with that, it was very informative. Not boring, as we know how books that teach us can sometimes be, but very sweet. If you have a child that has a love of animals then this would be a good buy.

 

CYNTHIA COCKBURN, June 2, 2017
Amazon.co.uk – 5 stars
Tops again!
Such an imaginative and endearing study! Once again this talented photographer and author, feminist and naturalist, Lieve Snellings has scored tops with this lovely children’s book. Don’t miss it!

 

LIZ KAHN, June 2, 2017
Amazon.co.uk – 4 stars
It was a joy to read and the photos are a great compliment
Once again and lovely book that connects children to wildlife. It was a joy to read and the photos are a great compliment.

 

BYBLIO I AM, June 2, 2017
Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk – 4 stars
Cute and interesting book about groundhogs
Cute and interesting book about groundhogs. Anyone interested in them will love this book.

 

TANIA GIGUERE, June 2, 2017
Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk – 5 stars
An amazing adventure with Margot
Margot is cute and informative in this beautiful story on how groundhogs live and enjoy their world. Margot brings to life the magic that surrounds these magnificent creatures. A story for older children and adults but the pictures are fantastic for the young at heart. A story that parents can read to their kids and teach them at the same time.
I enjoyed every part of this story, and the children will also be very proud to say that they know Margot.

 

MACENZIE FLOHR, June 1, 2017
Amazon.com + Goodreads – 5 stars
A wonderful book on groundhogs
Groundhog Secrets: Everything You Always Wanted to Know about Woodchucks by Lieve Snellings is a fantastic illustrated children’s book about groundhogs. The pictures are stunning and the facts are very interesting. For example, I honestly had no idea that the groundhog was related to the squirrel or the chipmunk! I would definitely recommend this book to readers of animal lovers.

 

TARA THOMAS – SANDERSON, June 1, 2017
Amazon.com – 5 stars
Charming!
Beautifully illustrated full of amazing facts. My kids loved this book. Fun to read and fun to learn!

 

SUSAN COUNT, June 1, 2017
Amazon.com – 4 stars
Superb Photographs
The photographs are the stars! They are superb. The fact filled, narrative is entertaining and I learned stuff. I was fascinated to find out that each hair of the ground hog is three colors.

 

STACY BEAHLER, June 1, 2017
Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk – 5 stars
And I think my grandkids will love learning more about how groundhogs live—it really teaches them 
Great for the grandkids 
I’ve been looking forward to this book ever since the first “Margot the Groundhog” story, and it was worth the wait! The pictures are cute and clever and really show all the details of how all the different animals look. Can’t wait to tell my grandkids there’s another Margot book, and I think my grandkids will love learning more about how groundhogs live—it really teaches them to respect nature.

 

MARIA HAYDEN, June 1, 2017
Amazon.co.uk – 5 stars
I really enjoyed their story and loved the photographs
If you want to know all about Groundhogs then this children’s book is for you, told to you by the Groundhogs themselves using full colour photographic illustrations. A very handle little book for any school project. I loved it and discovered that there is even such a thing as a black squirrel! I always wondered about Groundhog Day too. I wonder if the scientists will manage to discover the secrets of their hibernation. Imagine operations without the need for anesthetic. Highly recommend this book to all curious minds.

 

SUE FINCH, June 1, 2017
Amazon.co.uk
A magical book 
Groundhog Secrets is a magical encyclopedia of curious and fascinating facts about groundhogs – illustrated with beautiful photos, and narrated by Margot (a groundhog). Who knew that the solitary groundhogs could shift 250 kg of earth in a week, making long underground tunnels with a bedroom and toilet? Or that they whistle to alert others of danger? This book by Lieve Snellings is a complete treat – another delight for fans of the
previous Margot books, and a delightful book that will make everyone who reads it feel better about life (even in these terrible times). A perfect gift for every child – and every adult!

 

RUTH HERRING, June 1, 2017
Amazon.com – 5 stars
Charming, funny, terrific photos, and interesting info
“ I love this charming (and funny!) book. It’s packed with terrific close-up photos of woodchucks (otherwise known as groundhogs) and tidbits of fascinating information to help you appreciate them and their families. I’m definitely going to share it with a child in my life. — Ruth ”

 

KIRSTY WHITLOCK, June 1, 2017
Amazon.co.uk + Goodreads – 5 stars
A beautifully illustrated children’s book that talks about the Groundhog. 
A beautifully illustrated children’s book that talks about the Groundhog. Filled with intriguing facts about groundhogs and squirrels. Gorgeous illustrations and overall just lovely. Really enjoyed reading

 

RELINDE BAETEN: 26 september 2015
Margot de bosmarmot
Hoe een onbekend dier sterallures krijgt voor kinderen.
Fotoboek brengt leven en werken van de bosmarmot in beeld.
Een marmot is ze niet, Lieve Snellings. Daarvoor kijkt ze te wakker door haar fotolens naar de wereld. Haar fascinatie voor een schuwe bezoeker in haar Canadese achtertuin – de bosmarmot – ontspoorde prettig in een mooi vormgegeven boek. Een boek met bovenal prachtige beelden. Je wilt er niet aan denken hoe lang de auteur op vinken- of marmottenslag heeft gelegen om dat ene beeld te treffen. Of hoeveel foto’s naar de achterbank zijn verwezen.
Het resultaat is een boekje van 45 pagina’s, waarin Margot de bosmarmot haar persoonlijke verhaal doet. Hoe ze leeft, slaapt, eet. Een bijzondere aardbewoner, dat maak je op uit de vele weetjes. Een winterslaap met een lichaamstemperatuur van amper 3 °C. Marmotten zijn verzot op strooizout, omdat er natrium in zit en dat vinden ze net zo lekker ‘als jullie ijsjes lusten’. Hun bont dat ‘murmel’ heet… altijd prettig om een woord af te stoffen en er kennis mee te maken. Of dat ze acht tepels hebben. Het solitaire leven van de bosmarmot spreekt op de een of andere manier ook aan, ook als je ziet wat voor burchten ze ondergronds bouwen om de winter door te komen – en om hun kroost groot te brengen. Margot geeft ook ruimte aan haar familieleden – de andere leden van de marmottenfamilie stellen zich voor en brengen nieuwe accenten aan.
Geen grote verhalen, wel prachtige natuurlijke foto’s. Af en toe worden die beelden wat bewerkt. Niet met gefakete photoshop, maar in duidelijke collages die de tekst moeten ondersteunen. Zoals de marmot met haar dokterstasje, zodat zeker bijblijft dat mensen-medici gefascineerd zijn door de marmottenwinterslaap, of toch vooral door wat zo’n ‘winterslaap’ kan betekenen voor mensen bij een operatie.
Lieve Snellings verstaat haar fotovak. Maar de uitgepuurde en geduldige lens-relatie met dit ene wezen getuigt van een grote verbondenheid met de natuur. En dat is precies wat kinderen herkennen en waar ze van genieten.
Dit boekje is bedoeld voor kinderen van 9 tot 12 jaar. Om voor te lezen. Met wat uitleg, af en toe, want sommige termen zijn moeilijk voor kinderen.
Een aanrader, nog voor of anders tijdens uw volgende winterslaap.

 

Advertenties